God’s Providence in Artaxerxes I Longimaus’ Decree

I’d like to say I’m glad I left the KJV-only movement. Sadly, the KJV tends to lack sub-headings which makes it difficult to do some pausing. I decided to use the NIV with its sub-headings to focus on topics. This time, the lesson is on Artaxerxes I Longimanus’ decree, a decree given by providence. The first permission was by Cyrus the Great. Now, it was given by Darius the Great. Now, we have another one namely Artaxerxes I Longimanus, son of Xerxes. I might have to reread Providence is Enough by Pastor Mel Caparros of Living Word Christian Church when I study Esther. This letter was written sometime after the events in Esther. Some believe that Esther was the mother of Artaxerxes I Longimanus. If so, this Artaxerxes I Longimanus may have become a believer in Yahweh. I can’t be certain enough though.

After digging into historical documents, it’s time to focus on the letter in Ezra 7:11-26. Verses 27-28 provide some kind of conclusion. If these books weren’t written in chapters and verses, I assume there were probably some form of divisions that the writers used to avoid eyestrain. Maybe, there were certain markers here and there in the older manuscripts. Since I can’t read Greek or Hebrew, I can’t be certain what form of division they used to avoid eyestrain. I’m thankful for the chapter and verse division even if it was done by a Roman Catholic cardinal named Stephen Langton. Later, Robert Estienne aka Stephanus, a Protestant scholar, managed to work things around. Now, let’s go back to the topic of Artaxerxes I’s decree.

It should be interesting that there was a copy of the letter. Today, we have a photocopy sent while the original copy is kept at the office. I could imagine a scribe’s job wasn’t easy since there was no printing press or photocopier back then. This letter was addressed to Ezra at the order of Artaxerxes I who’s called king of kings. Artaxerxes I was king of some kings. After all, Artaxerxes I was the emperor of the Persian Empire. An emperor had kings under his authority. Technically, Artaxerxes I was the king of kings but only of the Persian empire. Commentator Matthew Henry calls it too high a title for any mere man. With Persia as the greatest empire in the world then, pagans calling Artaxerxes I “king of kings” was very normal. I wasn’t too surprised there was even an Indian TV series called Buddha which labeled it as “the untold story of the king of kings”. Sorry, but there’s only one King of Kings and Lord of Lords and that’s the Lord Jesus Christ!

Yahweh’s provision is moved through a Persian king. There are seven advisers. It’s the number according to Persian tradition (Esther 1:14). Silver and gold were given by the king and his advisers by provision. The Persian Empire was steeply involved in the Zoroastrian or Parseeist faith. They all worshiped a false god named Ahura Mazda, who I assume is also the Allah of Islam. I wouldn’t be surprised if the Aramaic letter wrote God as Allah or Ahura. The Strong’s Concordance writes Elah as the transliterated word for God. Elah sounds similar to Allah. That would be blasphemy at most to say that Allah is the same as Yahweh. However, Yahweh used Artaxerxes I’s decree to have the Jews given what they truly needed. The Jews were given permission not just to use the gold and silver from the Persian Empire. They were also given permission to use gold and silver from the province of Babylon. Babylon was now under the Persian Empire. Today, Babylon is but part of the modern state of Iraq.

What amazes me is that verse 17 has a decree to buy bulls, rams, and male lambs, together with their grain offerings, and drink offerings, and to sacrifice them to the altar of Yahweh. The Chaldean word is Elah, sounding a lot like Allah. How can the worshiper of Ahura Mazda give such instructions? I could imagine the Aramaic letter calling Yahweh the law of your Allah, their Allah, and the Allah of Israel. It’s absolutely blasphemous to compare the god of Islam to the God of creation. I used to think Allah was just a neutral word for the Arabic word for God. However, Allah is a satanic counterfeit. It’s amazing how Yahweh allowed the worshipers of a pagan god to provide for His worship. Truly, Psalm 76:10 says that the wrath of man will praise God. Verse 18 even goes further to have it that the Jews were permitted to use the silver and the gold to do after the will of their God. I could imagine “the will of your God” may have had God written as Elah or Allah. Ahura means lord and Mazda means wisdom. Maybe, these Persians all thought Yahweh was simply another ahura and another elah. However, this was allowed to happen for a certain period, for a certain reason.

Another providence is given by the treasurers of the Trans-Euphrates, to provide with what Ezra may need. I’m prone to believe that Artaxerxes I may have been moved by superstition. However, we can’t deny what God had providentially given to Ezra. Fortunately, the Life Bible Application is very generous in providing modern-day equivalents to the mathematical units of the olden times. I can imagine these provisions given. First, we have 3,400 tons of silver. Second, we have 1,800 tons of wheat. Third, we have 60,000 gallons of olive oil and salt, described without limit. Why would pagans suddenly give such generous provisions to the worshipers of Yahweh? Verse 23 may have the answer that this was most likely because the heathens feared the wrath of the God of Heaven. Perhaps, they believed at some point, that Yahweh was Allah or Ahura Mazda. Eventually, tax exemption was provided for the priests, Levites, musicians, gatekeepers temple servants, and other workers. Today, churches in general tend to be tax-exempt.

Artaxerxes I saw the wisdom of Ezra and the wisdom of his God. I feel that Artaxerxes I only wrote this in superstition. However, if Artaxerxes I’s mother was Esther, he may have become a believer. It’s also amazing that Artaxerxes I gave permission that whoever doesn’t obey the laws of Yahweh and the king will be punished to death. Persian laws were very severe. Darius the Great gave the order to use the post of an offender’s house as an instrument of death. The Persians impaled people on posts. Early forms of crucifixion were done by the Persians. I could imagine that there may have been crucifixions done. If anything, Artaxerxes I gave provision but it was God’s will. God allowed the unbelieving Persians to enact this decree. However, Esther 8:17 also writes that through Esther and Mordecai, some people living in the Persian Empire embraced the Jewish faith. If this is the case, perhaps I’m wrong to assume that Artaxerxes I may have written the letter in superstition.

In verses 27-28, we read the conclusion of the matter. The Hebrew section is resumed at these verses. Note that there is praise that God had put such a thing in Artaxerxes I’s heart. Joseph had such a provision in Egypt. Daniel had such provision in Babylon. It was only through Yahweh’s grace that the Jews got such grace in the Persian Empire.

Published by

Franklin

A former Roman Catholic turned born-again Christian. A special nobody loved by a great Somebody. After many years of being a moderate fundamentalist KJV Only, I've embraced Reformed Theology in the Christian life. Also currently retired from the world of conspiracy theories. I'm here to share posts about God's Word and some discernment issues.